Volunteer time at NCAAs

 

i.jpgThis past weekend was the NCAA Division I Track and Field National Championships. The event was being held at the Birmingham Crossplex. My school, Samford University, was the host for the weekend and it was an amazing atmosphere to be in. In college this was the first national sporting event I have been too. It made my experience better when I knew I was going to be a part of this event.

The word volunteer can mean different things to people. Some look at the word as a person who gives up their own time to help out others. With this the “volunteer” knows the return is the satisfaction that people would appreciate. Some may look at the word as a forced or unpleasant action to help out others and may do a terrible job at it.

CdYeDxcUkAEGitN.jpg

I look at volunteering as a positive to help others in need whether they say thank you or not. Because most people need others to run successful operations. That is definitely true in the world of sports. Even though I had to volunteer at NCAA championships, I saw it as an opportunity to better my understanding about event management and operations.

This is a career path I potentially want to pursue. This is why I am a sport administration major. I love sports, but I also love to help people too. The congratulations and thanks that I received from this weekend was heartfelt. I was glad to contribute on a very high level for the NCAA.

12800159_10209133306713011_6651099146283791616_n.jpg

Plus it was really cool to meet ESPN SportsCenter anchor John Anderson at the championships!

Images from:

https://twitter.com/FloTrack/media

http://espn.go.com/college-sports/story/_/id/14960757/oregon-ducks-sweep-ncaa-indoor-track-field-championships

https://www.facebook.com/aDp.AliveNfree

Leave a Reply

